Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us
Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us

Sanctuary Advisory Council Member List

 

The Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council share their collective knowledge to help chart the proper course for the sanctuary.

Sanctuary AC Coordinator

Chris Butler-Minor
E-mail: Chris Butler-Minor


Non-Government Seats

Citizen At Large:
Mike Dougherty - Read bio here
E-mail: doherty_mike@yahoo.com

Alternate:
Jim Vail
E-mail: alaskabub@gmail.com

 

Marine Resource Committee:
Tami Pokorny
Jefferson County, Environmental Public Health
E-mail: tpokorny@co.jefferson.wa.us

 

Education:
Lee Whitford (Chair) - Read bio here
E-mail: leewhitford1@gmail.com

Alternate:
Dann May - Read bio here
Peninsula College
E-mail: dannjmay@gmail.com

 

Research:
Jan Newton - Read bio here
University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory
E-mail newton@apl.washington.edu

Alternate:
Tom Mumford - Read bio here
Marine Agronomics
E-mail tmumford@u.washington.edu

 

Conservation:
Rich Osborne - Read bio here
Olympic Natural Resources Center
E-mail: osborner@uw.edu

Alternate:
Liz Schotman - Read bio here
Surfrider foundation
E-mail: lschotman@surfrider.org

 

Tourism/Economic Development:
Steven Shively
Jefferson County Tourism Coordinating Council
E-mail TCC@S3Solutions.biz

Alternate:
Kevin Decker, Ph.D.
Washington SeaGrant Coastal Economist
E-mail kadecker@uw.edu

 

Marine Business/Ports/Industry:
Linda Sturgis
Sturgis S3 Solutions

Alternate:
Open

 

Fishing:
Joel Kawahara - Read bio here
E-mail: joelkaw@earthlink.net

Alternate:
Mark Gleason
USI Insurance Services
E-mail mark.gleason@usi.com


Government Seats

U.S. Department of Homeland Security/Coast Guard:
Captain Patrick McElligatt 
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: Patrick.s.mcelligatt@usg.mil  

Alternate:
CDR John Fu
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: HsingYen.J.Fu@uscg.mil

 

U.S. Department of Interior - Olympic National Park:
Sarah Creachbaum, Superintendent - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: sarah_creachbaum@nps.gov

Alternate:
Steve Fradkin - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: steven_fradkin@nps.gov

 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service:
Jennifer Brown-Scott - Read bio here
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: jennifer_brownscott@fws.gov

Alternate:
Lorenz Sollmann
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: lorenz_sollmann@fws.gov

 

National Marine Fisheries Service:
Scott Hecht, Ph.D - Read bio here
NOAA Fisheries, Branch Chief, Washington Coast-Lower Columbia
E-mail: scott.hecht@noaa.gov

Alternate:
Kevin Duffy
NOAA/NMFS/Sustainable Fisheries Division
E-mail: kevin.duffy@noaa.gov

 

U.S. Navy:
Cindi Kunz
Navy Region Northwest: Senior Biologist; ESA Coordinator
E-mail: cindi.kunz@navy.mil

Alternate:
Stephanie Sleeman - Read bio here
Navy Region Northwest
E-mail: stephanie.sleeman@navy.mil

 

Washington State Dept. of Ecology:
Casey Dennehy - Red bio here
Marine Policy Associate | Shorelands and Environmental Assistance Program
E-mail: casey.dennehy@ecy.wa.gov

Alternate:
Micah Horwith, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist – Ocean Acidification | Environmental Assessment Program
E-mail: micah.horwith@ecy.wa.gov

 

Washington State Dept. of Natural Resources:
Hannah Blackstock - Read bio here
Aquatic Policy Analyst
E-mail: Hannah.Blackstock@dnr.wa.gov

Alternate:
Sean Carlson
Straits Unit District Manager

Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife:
Dan Ayres - Read bio here
Coastal Shellfish Manager
E-mail: Daniel.Ayres@dfw.wa.gov

Alternate:
Open

 

Local Government

Mark Ozias - Read bio here
Clallam County Commissioners Office

Alternates:
Heidi Eisenhour
Jefferson County Board of Commissioner

Open

 

Tribal Representatives

Hoh Tribe:
Dave Hudson
E-mail: hohtribe@hotmail.com

Alternate:
Julie Ann Koehlinger, MMA
Timber, Fish, and Wildlife Biologist
E-mail: julie.koehlinger@hohtribe-nsn.org

 

Makah Tribe:
Steve Joner
Makah Fisheries Management
E-mail: gofish@olypen.com

Alternate:

 

Quileute Tribe:
Jennifer Hagen - Read bio here
E-mail: jennifer.hagen@quileutenation.org

Alternate:
Frank Geyer 
E-mail: frank.geyer@quileutenation.org

 

Quinault Nation:
Ed Johnstone
Quinault Nation
E-mail: ejohnsto@quinault.org

Alternate:
Joe Schumacker - Read bio here
E-mail: jschumacker@quinault.org

*These seats’ terms are currently up for renewal via competitive recruitment. Open seats are listed on our recruitment page.

 

For more information, please contact
Chris Butler-Minor
Council Coordinator
115 East Railroad Ave
Port Angeles, WA 98362
(360) 406-2092
Chris Butler-Minor



Contact for page content: olympiccoast@noaa.gov
photo of the beach with grass and sand
Revised July 26, 2017 by Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary   |    Contact Us   |    Report a broken link  |
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service    |    leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Disclaimer for more information.| User Survey
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | National Marine Sanctuaries | NOAA Library | Privacy Policy