Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us
Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us

Sanctuary Advisory Council Member List

 

The Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council share their collective knowledge to help chart the proper course for the sanctuary.

Sanctuary AC Coordinator

Chris Butler-Minor
E-mail: Chris Butler-Minor


Non-Government Seats

Citizen At Large:
Katie Krueger - Read bio here
E-mail: chicago1@centurytel.net

Alternate:
Allison Mahaney - Read bio here
Waypoint Law Office
E-mail: allison@waypointlawoffice.com

 

Marine Resource Committee:

Tami Pokorny
Jefferson County, Environmental Public Health
E-mail: tpokorny@co.jefferson.wa.us

 

Education:
*Lee Whitford (Chair) - Read bio here
E-mail: leewhitford1@gmail.com

Alternate:
Dann May - Read bio here
Peninsula College
E-mail: dannjmay@gmail.com

 

Research:
Jan Newton - Read bio here
University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory
E-mail newton@apl.washington.edu

Alternate:
Tom Mumford - Read bio here
Marine Agronomics
E-mail tmumford@u.washington.edu

 

Conservation:
Rich Osborne - Read bio here
Olympic Natural Resources Center
E-mail: osborner@uw.edu

Open

Alternate:

 

Tourism/Economic Development:
Steven Shively
Jefferson County Tourism Coordinating Council
E-mail TCC@S3Solutions.biz

Alternate:
Open

 

Marine Business/Ports/Industry:
John Veentjer (secretary) - Read bio here
Marine Exchange of Puget Sound
E-mail: jeveentjer@marexps.com

Alternate:
Dan Nutt
Kirby Offshore Marine, LLC
E-mail: dan.nutt@kirbycorp.com

 

Fishing:
*Joel Kawahara - Read bio here
E-mail: joelkaw@earthlink.net

Alternate:

Government Seats

U.S. Department of Homeland Security/Coast Guard:
Captain Patrick McElligatt 
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: Patrick.s.mcelligatt@usg.mil  

Alternate:
CDR John Fu
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: HsingYen.J.Fu@uscg.mil

 

U.S. Department of Interior - Olympic National Park:
Sarah Creachbaum, Superintendent - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: sarah_creachbaum@nps.gov

Alternate:
Steve Fradkin - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: steven_fradkin@nps.gov

 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service:
Jennifer Brown-Scott - Read bio here
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: jennifer_brownscott@fws.gov

Alternate:
Lorenz Sollmann
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: lorenz_sollmann@fws.gov

 

National Marine Fisheries Service:
Scott Hecht, Ph.D - Read bio here
NOAA Fisheries, Branch Chief, Washington Coast-Lower Columbia
E-mail: scott.hecht@noaa.gov

Alternate:
Kevin Duffy
NOAA/NMFS/Sustainable Fisheries Division
E-mail: kevin.duffy@noaa.gov

 

U.S. Navy:

Alternate:
Stephanie Sleeman - Read bio here
Navy Region Northwest
E-mail: stephanie.sleeman@navy.mil

 

Washington State Dept. of Ecology:
Casey Dennehy - Red bio here
Marine Policy Associate | Shorelands and Environmental Assistance Program
E-mail: casey.dennehy@ecy.wa.gov

Alternate:
Carol Falkenhayn Maloy
Carol Falkenhayn Maloy - Read bio here
Marine Monitoring Supervisor | Environmental Assessment Program
E-mail: cfal461@ecy.wa.gov

 

Washington State Dept. of Natural Resources:
Josh Peters - Read bio here
Aquatic Resources Division, Orca-Straits District
E-mail: Josh.Peters@dnr.wa.gov

Alternate:
Hannah Blackstock - Read bio here
Aquatic Policy Analyst
E-mail: Hannah.Blackstock@dnr.wa.gov

Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife:
Dan Ayres - Read bio here
Coastal Shellfish Manager
Daniel.Ayres@dfw.wa.gov

Alternate:
Open

 

Local Government

Mark Ozias - Read bio here
Clallam County Commissioners Office
E-mail: mozias@co.clallam.wa.us

Alternates:

Greg Brotherton
Jefferson County Board of Commissioners
E-mail: gbrotherton@co.jefferson.wa.us

Wes Cormier
Grays Harbor County Board of Commissioners
wcormier@co.grays-harbor.wa.us

 

Tribal Representatives

Hoh Tribe:
Dave Hudson
E-mail: hohtribe@hotmail.com

Alternate:
Joe Gilbertson
E-mail: joseph.gilbertson@hohtribe-nsn.org

 

Makah Tribe:
Steve Joner
E-mail: gofish@olypen.com

Alternate:
Katie Wrubel - Read bio here
E-mail: katie.wrubel@makah.com

 

Quileute Tribe:

Jennifer Hagen - Read bio here
E-mail: jennifer.hagen@quileutenation.org

Alternate:
Frank Geyer 
E-mail: frank.geyer@quileutenation.org

 

Quinault Nation:
Ed Johnstone
Quinault Nation
E-mail: ejohnsto@quinault.org

Alternate:
Joe Schumacker - Read bio here
E-mail: jschumacker@quinault.org

*These seats’ terms are currently up for renewal via competitive recruitment. Open seats are listed on our recruitment page.

 

For more information, please contact
Chris Butler-Minor
Council Coordinator
115 East Railroad Ave
Port Angeles, WA 98362
(360) 406-2092
Chris Butler-Minor



Contact for page content: Chris Butler-Minor
photo of the beach with grass and sand
Revised July 26, 2017 by Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary   |    Contact Us   |    Report a broken link  |
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service    |    leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Disclaimer for more information.| User Survey
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | National Marine Sanctuaries | NOAA Library | Privacy Policy