Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us
Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Get Involved section includes Advisory Council and Volunteer With Us

Sanctuary Advisory Council Member List

 

The Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council share their collective knowledge to help chart the proper course for the sanctuary.

Sanctuary AC Coordinator

Karlyn Langjahr
E-mail: karlyn.langjahr@noaa.gov


Non-Government Seats

Citizen At Large:
Katie Krueger - Read bio here
chicago1@centurytel.net

Alternate:
Allison Mahaney - Read bio here
Platt-Irwin Law Firm
armahaney@plattirwin.com

 

Marine Resource Committee:
Casey Dennehy (Vice Chair) - Read bio here
Surfrider Foundation
E-mail: cdennehy@surfrider.org

Alternate:
Rich Osborne - Read bio here
University of Washington, Olympic Natural Resources Center
E-mail: osborner@uw.edu

 

Education:
Lee Whitford (Chair) - Read bio here
E-mail: leewhitford1@gmail.com

Alternate:
Michael Barton - Read bio here
Emeritus Professor of Biology, Centre College
E-mail: mike.barton@centre.edu

 

Research:
Jan Newton - Read bio here
University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory
E-mail newton@apl.washington.edu

Alternate:
Tom Mumford - Read bio here
Marine Agronomics
E-mail tmumford@u.washington.edu

 

Conservation:
Jodie Toft - Read bio here
The Nature Conservancy
E-mail jtoft@tnc.org

Alternate:
Lora Leschner - Read bio here
Leschner Consulting, Pacific Birds Habitat Joint Venture
E-mail Lora_Leschner@pacificbirds.org

 

Tourism/Economic Development:
Steven Shively - Read bio here
Jefferson County Tourism Coordinating Council
E-mail TCC@S3Solutions.biz

Alternate:
Vacant as of May 2017

 

Marine Business/Ports/Industry:
John Veentjer (secretary) - Read bio here
Marine Exchange of Puget Sound
E-mail: jeveentjer@marexps.com

Alternate:
Frank Holmes
Western State Petroleum Association
E-mail: frank@wspa.org

 

Fishing:
Joel Kawahara - Read bio here
E-mail: joelkaw@earthlink.net

Alternate:
Thomas Burlingame - Read bio here
Excel Charters and The Inn at Neah Bay
E-mail: tom@excelfishingcharters.com

 

Government Seats

U.S. Department of Homeland Security/Coast Guard:
Captain Brian Gilda - Read bio here
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: Brian.S.Gilda@uscg.mil

Alternate:
CDR Aaron Meadows-Hills - Read bio here
U.S. Coast Guard District Thirteen
E-mail: Aaron.R.MeadowsHills@uscg.mil

 

U.S. Department of Interior - Olympic National Park:
Sarah Creachbaum, Superintendent - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: sarah_creachbaum@nps.gov

Alternate:
Steve Fradkin - Read bio here
Olympic National Park
Email: steven_fradkin@nps.gov

 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service:
Jennifer Brown-Scott - Read bio here
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: jennifer_brownscott@fws.gov

Alternate:
Lorenz Sollmann
Washington Maritime National Wildlife Refuges Complex
E-mail: lorenz_sollmann@fws.gov

 

National Marine Fisheries Service:
John Stadler - Read bio here
NOAA/NMFS
E-mail: john.stadler@noaa.gov

Alternate:
Kevin Duffy
NOAA/NMFS/Sustainable Fisheries Division
E-mail: kevin.duffy@noaa.gov

 

U.S. Navy:
Carolyn Winters - Read bio here
Navy Region Northwest
E-mail: carolyn.winters@navy.mil

Alternate:
Stephanie Sleeman - Read bio here
Navy Region Northwest
E-mail: stephanie.sleeman@navy.mil

 

Washington State Dept. of Ecology:
Jennifer Hennessey - Read bio here
Shorelands & Environmental Assistance Program
E-mail: jenh461@ecy.wa.gov

Alternate:
Christopher Krembs - Read bio here
Environmental Assessment Program
E-mail: ckre461@ecy.wa.gov

 

Washington State Dept. of Natural Resources:
Katrina Lassiter - Read bio here
Aquatic Policy Analyst
E-mail: Katrina.Lassiter@dnr.wa.gov

Alternate:
Josh Peters - Read bio here
Aquatic Resources Division, Orca-Straits District
E-mail: Josh.Peters@dnr.wa.gov

 

Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife:
Dan Ayres - Read bio here
Coastal Shellfish Manager
Daniel.Ayres@dfw.wa.gov

Alternate:
Vacant

 

Local Government

Wes Cormier
Grays Harbor County Board of Commissioners
wcormier@co.grays-harbor.wa.us

Alternates:

Mark Ozias - Read bio here
Clallam County Commissioners Office
E-mail: mozias@co.clallam.wa.us

Kate Dean
Jefferson County Board of Commissioners
kdean@co.jefferson.wa.us

 

Tribal Representatives

Hoh Tribe:
Dave Hudson
E-mail: hohtribe@hotmail.com

Alternate:
Joe Gilbertson
E-mail: joseph183@centurytel.net

 

Makah Tribe:
Steve Joner
E-mail: gofish@olypen.com

Alternate:
Dana Sarff - Read bio here
E-mail: sarff.dana@centurytel.net

 

Quileute Tribe:
Mel Moon, Jr., Director
Quileute Natural Resource Center
E-mail: melmoon@centurytel.net

Alternate:
Jennifer Hagen
E-mail: jennifer.hagen@quileutenation.org

 

Quinault Nation:
Ed Johnstone
Quinault Nation
E-mail: ejohnsto@quinault.org

Alternate:
Joe Schumacker - Read bio here
E-mail: jschumacker@quinault.org

 

For more information, please contact
Karlyn Langjahr
Council Coordinator
115 East Railroad Ave
Port Angeles, WA 98362
(360) 406-2092
Karlyn Langjahr



Contact for page content: Karlyn Langjahr
photo of the beach with grass and sand
Revised July 26, 2017 by Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary   |    Contact Us   |    Report a broken link  |
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service    |    leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Disclaimer for more information.| User Survey
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | National Marine Sanctuaries | NOAA Library | Privacy Policy